Medicine Overcharged? The 2026 Price Rules Changed
If a chemist billed you more than the ceiling price of a scheduled medicine, the law does not send that money back to you on its own. It makes somebody deposit it with the Government, with interest, on top of a penalty. The Drugs (Prices Control) Amendment Order, 2026 changed who that somebody is likely to be, and it named five kinds of proof a medicine maker must produce to push the liability down to the shop. Two of those five you can check from your phone tonight.
The amendment is S.O. 3516(E), dated 30 June 2026, made by the Department of Pharmaceuticals under section 3 of the Essential Commodities Act, 1955. Paragraph 1(2) says it comes into force on the date of its publication in the Official Gazette, so it is already operating. It is the thirteenth amendment to the Drugs (Prices Control) Order, 2013.
What a ceiling price actually is
A scheduled formulation is any medicine in the First Schedule to the 2013 Order, “whether referred to by generic versions or brand name”. Only those get a ceiling price, and the figure is not a guess: under paragraph 4 the Government averages the price to retailer of every brand and generic version holding at least one percent of that medicine's market, adds a retailer margin of sixteen percent, and notifies the result.
Two rules from the parent Order are worth memorising:
- Paragraph 24(2): the maker must print the price on the label in indelible print mark, with the words “Maximum Retail Price” before it and “inclusive of all taxes” after it.
- Paragraph 26: nobody may sell a formulation above the price in the current price list or the price on the label, whichever is less. A stale higher label does not license a higher bill after the list price falls.
No rupee figure appears on this page, deliberately. Under paragraph 16 the Government revises ceiling prices against the wholesale price index for the preceding calendar year and notifies them on the first day of April each year, and makers may lift the maximum retail price once a year in April on the same basis without prior approval. Any number printed here would be stale by next April, so check the notification in force on your purchase date.
The 2026 amendment adds a wrinkle. Paragraph 11(3), as substituted, lets the Government fix a separate ceiling or retail price for a drug with specified therapeutic rationale, “considering the type of packaging or pack size or dosage compliance or content in the pack, namely, liquid, gaseous or any other form, in the unit dosage”. Two boxes of the same molecule can carry two lawful prices, so confirm you are comparing the same pack.
The five proofs, and which two you can check yourself
This is the usable part. The amendment inserts a new proviso into paragraph 24(1). Where a maker produces documentary evidence, on demand, of “sufficient effort at disseminating the revision in price to all stakeholders”, the overcharge is computed “solely on the stock handled by each retailer, distributor, or stockist found selling the formulation above the ceiling price”. Five items are named.
| What the maker must be able to prove | Time limit | Can a citizen check it? |
|---|---|---|
| Circulated the revised Market Retail Price list to dealers and retailers, “for display to consumers” | Not later than two weeks from the notification | Partly, by asking the shop |
| Advertised the price reduction in “at least two national newspapers” | Not later than two weeks from the notification | Yes, newspaper archives are public |
| Issued a revised or supplementary price list in Form V or Form VI to dealers and retailers | Not stated separately | Only through the shop or by RTI |
| Created “a dedicated Drugs Prices Control Order Matters section on the homepage of the company” with the notification and Market Retail Price | Not stated separately | Yes, open the company homepage |
| Submitted batch wise production details and stock position held by the company and its distributors | At the time of revision | No, this goes to the regulator |
Read the fourth row again. A maker that wants the narrower liability has to keep a price control section on its own homepage carrying the notification and the revised price. That is a public, dated artefact, and so is a newspaper advertisement. If a cut was notified months ago and neither exists, say so in your complaint. One caution: the proviso asks for effort “including through” these five items, so it is a list of what counts, not a closed exam paper.
Two clocks run together here. Say a cut is notified on 10 August; the date is invented to show the timing. The circulation and the advertisements are due by 24 August, two weeks later. Separately, an older proviso to paragraph 24(1) gives the maker forty five days, so by 24 September the printed price on stock already in the market must no longer exceed the new ceiling.
Who carries the liability after the 2026 change
The headline change sits in paragraph 14(2), and its scope is narrow. The new proviso applies “in respect of scheduled formulations produced or available in the market before the date of notification of the ceiling price”. For that stock, where the maker “demonstrates compliance with the provisions of paragraph 24”, its liability for overcharging “shall be restricted to the quantity of stock traded through the distributor or retailer found to have effected such overcharging”.
Plainly: a compliant manufacturer answers only for the offending shop's share of that old stock, while one that cannot show the paragraph 24 trail keeps the wider exposure. The shield has to be earned, and it covers pre notification stock only.
For new drugs launched by existing makers, two sub paragraphs were tightened, and they do not share a start date for interest:
- Paragraph 15(5), as substituted: a maker who fails to follow sub paragraph (2) “shall be liable to deposit the overcharged amount over and above such price fixed and notified by the Government, if any, along with interest thereon from the date of launch of the new drug, in addition to the penalty”.
- Paragraph 15(6), as substituted: no existing maker may launch such a new drug above the latest retail price fixed in the preceding twelve months, and if it does it must “deposit the overcharged amount along with interest from the date of overcharge, in addition to the penalty”.
Notice the remedy in each clause. It is a deposit to the Government of the overcharged amount, with interest, plus a penalty. It is not a refund to the patient who paid. Anyone who tells you paragraph 24 hands your money back is reading a different document.
What you can actually do
Your leverage at the counter comes from the parent Order, not the amendment.
- Ask to see the price list. Paragraph 24(4) makes every retailer and dealer display the price list “on a conspicuous part of the premises where he carries on business in a manner so as to be easily accessible to any person wishing to consult the same”. The shop must display the price list where you can read it.
- Read the label. The printed price must carry the words Maximum Retail Price and inclusive of all taxes. If the strip was cut so the price is missing, ask for a pack that has it.
- Loose strips. Paragraph 27 says no dealer may sell a loose quantity above the pro rata price. Cutting a strip is not a licence to round up.
- Keep the bill. A cash memo showing pack, strength, batch and price is the evidence that survives the argument, and the 2026 rule turns on which retailer handled which batch.
Then escalate. Call the National Pharmaceutical Pricing Authority helpline on 1800111255, shown on the regulator homepage as open on working days from 10am to 6pm, and ask for a complaint reference number. Send the same complaint in writing to your State Drugs Controller, since the price list under paragraph 24(3) is filed there. For the money itself, run a separate track and file a consumer court case for the excess.
Records now run seven financial years
A new paragraph 29 makes every manufacturer keep sales records of active pharmaceutical ingredients, bulk drugs and formulation packs “for a period of not less than seven financial years immediately preceding the current financial year”, and hold them until a pending proceeding is disposed of. Since paragraph 30 already gives an authorised gazetted officer powers of entry, search and seizure, that retention floor is the practical reach of a complaint you file today.
The RTI questions that actually get answered
The pricing regulator is a central public authority and every State Drugs Controller is a state one. Both answer under the RTI Act 2005. Ask for records that already exist, on a named date, and you get them. Ask for opinions and you get a refusal.
- The ceiling price notification in force for a named formulation, strength and pack size on a given date.
- The action taken on overcharge complaint reference number XYZ, with its registration date and status.
- Whether a demand for deposit of an overcharged amount was raised for a named formulation in a stated period, and the amounts demanded and recovered.
- The date the Form V or Form VI price list for a named formulation reached the State Drugs Controller.
- Inspection reports for a named chemist for a stated period, including any finding on price list display.
Asking for the full contents of a company's Form V filing may draw an exemption claim under Section 8 exemptions as commercial confidence. That is why the fourth request asks only whether a filing arrived and when, which is a fact about the office's own records. For prices, ask for the notification, which is public by definition.
Draft it with the AI RTI Drafter, then file an RTI online for the regulator, or use the state RTI portals directory for the state office. New to this? Start with how to file an RTI, and The RTI Playbook.
Questions people ask
Can I get my money back under paragraph 24?
No. The overcharged amount is payable to the Government, with interest and a penalty. The duty runs to the regulator, not to you. Your own money comes back, if at all, through a consumer complaint run alongside it.
How do I know if my medicine has a ceiling price at all?
Only scheduled formulations do, meaning those in the First Schedule to the 2013 Order. Check the notification in force for that formulation and pack, and ask the shop for the displayed price list. Do not trust a figure from a news story, because prices are renotified every April.
What if the shop bills above the price printed on the pack?
Paragraph 26 forbids selling above the current price list or the label price, whichever is lower, so that bill is an overcharge on its face. Photograph the pack and keep the cash memo, since both carry the batch the liability now follows.
Why do two similar packs carry different ceiling prices?
Because paragraph 11(3), as substituted in 2026, lets the Government fix a separate price for a drug with specified therapeutic rationale, taking account of packaging type, pack size, dosage compliance or pack content such as liquid or gaseous form. Compare like with like first.
Can the chemist refuse to show me the price list?
Paragraph 24(4) requires display on a conspicuous part of the premises, easily accessible to anyone wishing to consult it. A refusal is worth recording in your complaint to the State Drugs Controller, with the date and time you asked.
Does the 2026 amendment let manufacturers off the hook?
Not automatically. It narrows liability for stock already in the market before the ceiling price was notified, and only where the paragraph 24 evidence can be produced on demand. A maker with no advertisement, no price control section on its homepage and no circulated list has not earned it.
Sources
- Drugs (Prices Control) Amendment Order, 2026, S.O. 3516(E), dated 30 June 2026, Department of Pharmaceuticals, Gazette of India Extraordinary Part II Section 3 sub-section (ii): https://nppa.gov.in/storage/uploads/pdf/dpco-amend-2026-57e460458980dab7263beda9399d68bc.pdf
- Same notification, second copy on the regulator site: https://nppa.gov.in/storage/uploads/tender/dpco-amend-2026-02-07-2026.pdf
- Drugs (Prices Control) Order, 2013, consolidated text hosted by the National Pharmaceutical Pricing Authority with amendments up to 2023, used here for paragraphs 4, 16, 24, 26, 27 and 30: https://nppa.gov.in/storage/uploads/pdf/DPCO-inclusive-of-all-ammendmentscompressedpdf-6f9edc1bf7c000eb02b7eee6c180b527.pdf
- DPCO 2013 notifications index, which lists the 2026 amendment: https://nppa.gov.in/en/drugspricescontrolorder2013
- Regulator homepage, source of the helpline number and its hours: https://nppa.gov.in
- Status of Overcharging page: https://nppa.gov.in/en/statusofovercharging
- State Drug Controller listing: https://nppa.gov.in/en/statedrugcontroller
- Central Public Information Officer details for RTI applications to the regulator: https://nppa.gov.in/en/centralpublicinformationofficer
Every statutory line above was read from the Gazette notification and the regulator's own consolidated order on 4 September 2026. No medicine price is quoted, because ceiling prices are renotified each April.
